John Williams
- Academy Award Winner Best Score
Label: Intrada 7145
Date: 1975
Time: 115:49
Tracks: 54
One of cinema's most famous soundtracks finally gets the deluxe 2-CD treatment it deserves!

Price: $29.99

  • More Info
  • Track List
  • Doug's Tech Talk
  • Musicians List
  • One of cinema's most famous soundtracks finally gets the deluxe 2-CD treatment it deserves! John Williams won a well-deserved Academy Award for his 1975 scoring masterpiece Jaws, directed by Steven Spielberg, featuring Roy Scheider, Richard Dreyfuss, Robert Shaw... and the most terrifying shark in movie history. Peter Benchley's No. 1 best-selling book became a sensational hit under Spielberg, who himself claimed the John Williams music was responsible for at least half of the picture's success. And what music! Basses, cellos and arguably the two most famous "theme" notes in history. Williams offers a score that is equal parts powerfully ferocious terror, rousing nautical adventure. Almost the entire soundtrack as it appears in the film was presented for the first time in its actual soundtrack form for the movie's 25th anniversary in 2000 for the Decca label. The three-channel scoring masters were then newly-mixed into 5.1 sound for the film, with numerous sonic compromises made to create two-track stereo album masters, including significant reduction of the stereo imaging as well as liberal added reverb and noise reduction. For this new 2-CD release on Intrada, we have returned to the original session tapes, courtesy Universal Pictures, and created brand new mixes with state-of-the-art technology, affording genuine stereo imaging with clarity of detail and dynamic range never-before available - all under the supervision of John Williams. Included are all of the actual soundtrack sequences plus several brief but previously unreleased cues and several alternate selections, all being heard for the first time ever! Enjoy an alternate version of the "Main Title" made early in the scoring sessions but never used, two versions of the previously unreleased "Shark Tows Orca", two versions of the lengthy and incredible "Man Against Beast" cue, an extended version of "The Empty Raft", an alternate version of "Quint Meets His End", and more! CD 2 features a remastered presentation of the famed 1975 re-recorded 35-minute MCA album. Finally, six selections from the Amity Town Band parade and beach sequences, arranged by Stu Phillips and Hal Mooney and recorded by Williams early in the sessions, bring this important set to a close. Mike Matessino restores and masters the audio, Scott Bettencourt authors the informative liner notes, Joe Sikoryak provides the colorful "flipper" cover artwork and booklet design. A soundtrack library essential! John Williams conducts. Intrada INT series 2-CD set.
  • Play all clips

    01. Jaws – Main Title (0:59)
    02. The First Victim (1:45)
    03. Remains On The Beach (0:59)
    04. The Empty Raft (Extended Version) (1:45)
    05. The Pier Incident (2:30)
    06. Father And Son (Film Version) (1:59)
    07. The Alimentary Canal (1:58)
    08. Ben Gardner’s Boat (3:33)
    09. Montage (1:35)
    10. Into The Estuary (2:53)
    11. Out To Sea (Film Version) (1:01)
    12. Tug On The Line (2:39)
    13. Man Against Beast (Film Version) (5:34)
    14. Quint’s Tale (2:48)
    15. Brody Panics (1:16)
    16. Barrel Off Starboard (1:41)
    17. Great Chase (3:02)
    18. Shark Tows Orca (0:41)
    19. Three Barrels Under (2:17)
    20. From Bad To Worse (1:07)
    21. Quint Thinks It Over (1:14)
    22. The Shark Cage Fugue (2:02)
    23. The Shark Approaches (Film Version) (0:53)
    24. The Shark Hits The Cage (2:03)
    25. Quint Meets His End (1:27)
    26. Blown To Bits (3:17)
    27. Jaws – End Title (1:57)
         Total Score Time: 54:55

    The Extras
    28. Jaws – Main Title (Alternate) (1:12)
    29. The Typewriter (0:21)
    30. Man Against Beast (Alternate) (5:38)
    31. Barrel Off Starboard (Alternate Segment) (0:54)
    32. Great Chase (Alternate) (3:03)
    33. Shark Tows Orca (Alternate) (0:42)
    34. The Shark Approaches (Alternate) (0:55)
    35. Quint Meets His End (Alternate) (1:32)
    36. Wild Shark Theme (1:10)
         Total Extras Time: 15:15      Total CD1 Time: 70:20

    CD2 Original 1975 MCA Soundtrack Album
    01. Main Title (Theme From Jaws) (2:24)
    02. Chrissie’s Death (1:42)
    03. Promenade (Tourists On The Menu) (2:48)
    04. Out To Sea (2:30)
    05. The Indianapolis Story (2:27)
    06. Sea Attack Number One (5:25)
    07. One Barrel Chase (3:10)
    08. Preparing The Cage (3:26)
    09. Night Search (3:34)
    10. The Underwater Siege (2:34)
    11. Hand To Hand Combat (2:34)
    12. End Title (Theme From Jaws) (2:21)
         Total Album Time: 34:52

    The Extras Music From Amity Town Beach
    13. Joplin Rag (Original Rag) (Scott Joplin) (2:07)
    14. Winter Stories Waltz (Alphons Czibulka) (1:46)
    15. In The Good Old Summertime (George Evans & Ren Shields) (1:29)
    16. Thousand And One Nights Waltz (Johann Strauss Jr.) (1:49)
    17. Marching Band No. 1 (1:09)
    18. Marching Band No. 2 (2:05)
         Total Source Music Time: 14:30
         Total CD2 Time: 45:29

  • Composed and conducted by John Williams.
    Orignial score recorded on March 3, 4, and 10, 1975, at 20th Century Fox Studios Scoring Stage, Los Angeles, California. Source music recorded on March 5, 1975 at Universal City Studios Scoring, Universal City, California. Original soundtrack album recorded April 17 & 18, 1975 at The Burbank Studios, Burbank, California.

    This soundtrack was produced in cooperation with the
    American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada.

    John Williams

    Sandy DeCrescent

    Erno Neufeld
    Israel Baker
    Arnold Belnick
    Harry Bluestone
    Thomas Buffum
    Herman Clebanoff
    Bonnie Douglas
    Assa Drori
    James Getzoff
    Debbie Grossman
    Davida Jackson
    Anatol Kaminsky
    Nathan Kaproff
    George Kast
    Dick Kaufman
    Jacob Krachmalnick
    Marvin Limonick
    Alfred Lustgarten
    David Montagu
    Alex Murray
    Stanley Plummer
    Jay Rosen
    Nathan Ross
    Sheldon Sanov
    Josef Schoenbrun
    Haim Shtrum
    Paul C. Shure
    Marshall Sosson
    Joseph Stepansky
    Gerald Vinci
    Dorothy Wade
    Kenneth Yerke

    David Schwartz
    Myer Bello
    Rollice Dale
    Pamela Goldsmith
    Allan Harshman
    Yuriko Kamei
    Myra Kestenbaum
    Louis Kievman
    Virginia Majewski
    Dan Neufeld
    Harry Rumpler
    Milton Thomas

    Edgar Lustgarten
    Paul Bergman
    Paul Bergstrom
    Ronald Cooper
    Doug Davis
    Marie Fera
    Ann Goodman
    Armand Kaproff
    Dennis Karmazyn
    Ray Kelley
    Ray Kramer
    Kathleen Lustgarten
    Frederick Seykora

    Abe Luboff
    Charles Berghofer
    Charles Domanico
    Milton Kestenbaum
    Pete Mercurio
    Oscar Meza
    Jose Mondragon
    Meyer Rubin

    Sheridon Stokes
    Louise DiTullio
    Luella Howard
    Ted Nash

    John Ellis
    Earle Dumler

    Dominick Fera
    John Neufeld

    Norman Herzberg
    Donald Christlieb
    Jack Marsh

    Ronny Lang

    Vincent De Rosa
    James Decker
    David A. Duke
    Robert Henderson
    Arthur Maebe
    Richard Perissi

    Malcolm McNab
    Joe Burnett
    Uan Rasey
    Graham Young

    Dick Nash
    Miles Anderson
    Francis Howard
    George Roberts
    Lloyd Ulyate

    John T. Johnson

    Jerry Williams
    Larry Bunker
    Shelly Manne
    Emil Radocchia
    Kenneth Watson

    Dorothy Remsen
    Veryle Brilhart Mills
    Ann Stockton

    Ralph Grierson

    Bob Bain
    Thomas Tedesco