Label: Intrada Special Collection Volume ISC 267
Date: 1979
Time: 40:59
Tracks: 16
Reissue of dynamic, powerhouse soundtrack by Laurence Rosenthal for thrilling disaster tale from American International, directed by Ronald Neame, starring Sean Connery, Natalie Wood, Karl Malden, Martin Landau, Brian Keith, Henry Fonda.

This title is 30% off through August 4, 2014 while supplies last - Regular Price $19.99

Price: $13.99

  • More Info
  • Track List
  • Doug's Tech Talk
  • Musicians List
  • Reissue of dynamic, powerhouse soundtrack by Laurence Rosenthal for thrilling disaster tale from American International, directed by Ronald Neame (who also helmed The Poseidon Adventure), starring Sean Connery, Natalie Wood, Karl Malden, Martin Landau, Brian Keith, Henry Fonda. Laurence Rosenthal takes initial cue from meteor hurtling towards earth, creates massive chords for orchestra augmented by sparkling electronics plus imposing sound of "blaster beam", before instrument achieved recognition in subsequent Star Trek - The Motion Picture released shortly after Meteor. Rosenthal also creates music for Project Hercules missile system designed by Nasa engineer (Connery) to defend earth from meteor attacks, plus Russian theme for Soviet missile system in balance. Dynamic fanfare/march in major-key brings compelling score to rousing finish. Rosenthal actually brought into project at suggestion of John Williams, who was set to score picture but had scheduling challenges. Intrada reissue contains same musical content as pervious La-La Land release albeit slightly different assembly as per composer's supervision. 1/4" two-track stereo tape (later transferred by Intrada to DAT) containing most of score remains all that was ever vaulted of this music. All previous issues (including Japan vinyl edition released in 1979) were prepared from this one precious roll of tape, now presented by Intrada courtesy MGM. If you own LLL release, you have every cue present here. Some changes to actual titles, as per review of composer's manuscripts, clear up minor anomalies on track lists to prior releases. Laurence Rosenthal conducts. Intrada Special Collection release available while quantities and interest remain!

  • Play all clips

    01. Main Title (4:26)
    02. Challenger Two (2:47)
    03. The Meteor (2:11)
    04. The Russians Arrive (0:57)
    05. Siberia (2:02)
    06. 30,000 M.P.H. (0:54)
    07. Dubov’s Rage (0:58)
    08. Prepare For Aligning Peter The Great (0:50)

    09. Realigning Peter The Great (3:51)
    10. Alpine Innocence (0:59)
    11. Tatiana (2:00)
    12. Countdown (2:34)
    13. Manhattan Splinter (2:27)
    14. Malfunction (2:57)
    15. The Assault (3:22)
    16. Meteor – Band March And End Credits (7:03)

  • Composed and Conducted by Laurence Rosenthal.

    Recorded on May 21, 22, 24, June 14, and August 3, 7, 9, 1979, at MGM Studios Scoring Stage 1 in Culver City, California.

    This soundtrack was produced in cooperation with the
    American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada.

    Harry V. Lojewski

    Myer Bello
    Arnold Belnick
    Doris Carr
    Norman Carr
    Herman Clebanoff
    Shirley Cornell
    Bonnie Douglas
    David Frisina
    Irving Geller
    Joseph Goodman
    Jack Gootkin
    Allan Harshman
    Peter Hatch
    Reginald Hill
    Jan Hlinka
    Anatol Kaminsky
    Roland Kato
    Richard Kaufman
    Myra Kestenbaum
    Louis Kievman
    Ezra Kliger
    Murray Korda
    Mark G. Kovacs
    Janet Lakatos
    Norma Leonard
    Alfred Lustgarten
    Virginia Majewski
    Gordon H. Marron
    Irma Neumann
    David L. Newman
    Robert Ostrowski
    Stanley Plummer
    Christopher Reutinger
    Nathan Ross
    David Schwartz
    Haim Shtrum
    Paul C. Shure
    Jennifer Small
    Marshall Sosson
    Joseph Stepansky
    Ronald P. Strauss
    Robert Sushel
    Milton Thomas
    Dorothy M. Wade

    Douglas Davis
    Marie Fera
    Igor Horoshevsky
    Selene Hurford
    Armand Kaproff
    Ronald A. Leonard
    Edgar Lustgarten
    Kathleen Lustgarten (Hougesen)
    Nino Rosso
    Daniel Rothmuller
    David Speltz
    Gloria Strassner
    Mary Louise Zeyen

    James B. Campbell
    Arni Egilsson
    Milton Kestenbaum
    Peter Mercurio
    Meyer Rubin
    David Young

    Norman Benno
    Louise DiTullio
    Earle Dumler
    Dominick Fera
    Norman Herzberg
    Arthur Hoberman
    James Kanter
    Arnold Koblentz
    Jack Marsh
    Dominic Mumolo
    John Neufeld
    Gordon Schoneberg
    David Shostac
    Sheridon Stokes

    James Atkinson
    Arthur Briegleb
    Vincent DeRosa
    David Allan Duke
    Robert Henderson
    William E. Lane
    Art Maebe
    Richard Perissi
    Gale Robinson
    Henry Sigismonti

    Chase E. Craig
    Malcolm McNab
    Uan Rasey
    George Werth
    Graham Young

    Edward Kusby
    Richard Nash
    George M. Roberts
    Kenneth Shroyer
    Lloyd Ulyate
    Chauncey Welsch

    John T. Johnson
    James M. Self
    Donald G. Waldrop

    Frank T. Messina

    Jill Fraser
    Craig Hundley
    Lincoln Mayorga
    Clark Spangler

    Catherine Gotthoffer
    Dorothy B. Remsen
    Ann Marie Stockton

    Larry Bunker
    Emil Radocchia
    Tommy Vig
    Kenneth Watson

    Jack J. Hayes
    Arthur Morton
    Laurence Rosenthal
    Herbert W. Spencer

    Willard W. Jones, Jr.
    Ray Mace
    Donald J. Midgley