Label: Intrada Signature Edition ISE1051
Date: 1988/1991
Time: 0:49:48
Tracks: 28
Two exciting world premiere television scores by Craig Safan on one CD!

Price: - (Sold Out)

  • More Info
  • Track List
  • Doug's Tech Talk
  • Musicians List
  • Two exciting world premiere television scores by Craig Safan on one CD! Leading the charge is dynamite action score from 1988 pilot to planned but never-produced series for ABC, directed by Christian I. Nyby II, starring Jeffrey Meek, Roddy McDowall, Stephen Elliot. Story carries on shortly after Remo's theatrical heroics finish, with paid assassin hoping to become master Chiun's new pupil by going after Remo. Chases, stunts, wild antics ensue. Safan has wonderful opportunity to take two primary ideas from his robust 1985 film score, build all-new material around them, create dynamic music on scale not often heard in 1980's TV projects. Crisp, high trumpets over propulsive low brass & electronic rhythms carry Remo into action, traditional Korean folk melody gently assists master Chiun with his teachings. Rousing action stays in spotlight. Delight to hear impressive sound from big screen's 60-plus players become reduced to 40 players for small screen... and hold its own! Entire score presented in punchy audio from three-channel stereo masters preserved in MGM vaults. Second half of CD features powerful score for fact-based tale of heavy cruiser U.S.S. Indianapolis, sinking of same by Japanese sub during final weeks of WWII. Story of sailors struggling to survive in open water became subject of famous "monologue" by Quint (Robert Shaw) in JAWS. Safan anchors with noble, expressive main theme, then goes into shark-infested waters with survivors, musically battles the sea, the elements... and sharks. Last of those dangers gets incredibly aggressive scoring, amongst composer's most dramatic ever! Take note of tuba & bass trombone, crank up the volume, then duck! Robert Iscove directs tense tale, Stacy Keach, Richard Thomas, David Caruso star. Orchestral colors feature large brass section, woodwinds, percussion, suggesting sonority of military band. Composer retained high quality DAT with crisp stereo audio, helmed by veteran Dennis Sands. All large "A" orchestra cues are present, but other short bits featuring synthesizer appear lost to the ages. Informative notes by John Takis plus complete cue assembly details grace colorful booklet designed by Joe Sikoryak. Flipper artwork lets you select which project you prefer to emphasize. Craig Safan conducts. Intrada Signature Edition available while quantities and interest remain!
  • Play all clips 

    Remo Williams: Original MGM Television Soundtrack
    01. Main Title (2:56)
    02. Good-Byes (2:11)
    03. Ring Murder (1:08)
    04. Target Practice (0:59)
    05. Boardwalk Skating (3:06)
    06. Won’t Fail You (1:38)
    07. Robot (4:06)
    08. Blazing Warehouse (1:43)
    09. Floating Lily Pad (1:09)
    10. Remo Shot (1:24)
    11. Is He Dead? (2:15)
    12. Chiun Appears (1:57)
    13. The Master (0:40)
    14. End Title (0:50)
          Total Score Time: 26:08

    Mission Of The Shark: The Saga Of The U.S.S. Indianapolis
    15. Captain’s On Board (1:36)
    16. The Submarine (2:00)
    17. Enola Gay (0:21)
    18. The Attack (2:53)
    19. Abandon Ship (2:24)
    20. Is Anybody There? (1:17)
    21. Shark Attack (2:32)
    22. Zack Sinks (0:58)
    23. Find The Guys (2:50)
    24. Splash Down (0:23)
    25. Rescue Party (2:34)
    26. The Visit (0:50)
    27. The Legend (0:56)
    28. End Title (1:33)
          Total Score Time: 23:33

  • Composed and Conducted by Craig Safan.

    Recorded on April 22, 1987, at Universal Pictures Scoring Stage, Hollywood, California.

    This soundtrack was produced in cooperation with the
    American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada.

    David M. Sherr

    Stuart Canin
    Ron Clark
    Rhonni J. Hallman
    Clayton Haslop
    Michael B. Markman
    Gordon H. Marron
    Marian Mayer
    Constance Meyer
    Ralph Morrison
    Stanley Plummer
    Linda Rose
    Vicki Sylvester

    Dennis Karmazyn
    Daniel Smith
    Christina Soule
    Victor Sazer

    Earl Madison
    Robert Lee Adcock
    Ken Wild

    Phillip Ayling
    John J. Mitchell
    Gary Woodward

    French Horns:
    David A. Duke
    Marilyn Johnson

    Gary E. Grant
    Larry G. Hall
    Jerry Hey

    Charles C. Loper
    Richard T. Nash

    Alan C. Estes
    Steven Schaeffer

    Catherine Gotthoffer

    Keyboards, Piano:
    Richard K. Gibbs
    Terri Fricon
    Stuart Goldberg
    Pete M. Robinson

    Timothy J. May

    Brad Warnaar

    Agnes Overall
    Arthur Van Schloss
    Jean Del Grosso
    Douglas Fraser
    Josephine Dapar
    Mark Watters
    Ross DeRoche
    Michael Kibbe