Label: Intrada Special Collection Volume ISC 259
Date: 1989
Time: 0:49:21
Tracks: 11
World premiere release of beautiful Maurice Jarre soundtrack from John D. Hancock Christmas movie with Sam Elliot, Cloris Leachman, Johnny Galecki.

Price: - (Sold Out)

  • More Info
  • Track List
  • Doug's Tech Talk
  • Musicians List
  • World premiere release of beautiful Maurice Jarre soundtrack from John D. Hancock Christmas movie with Sam Elliot, Cloris Leachman, Johnny Galecki. Jarre finds inspiration in tale of small town girl who discovers wounded deer in woods, believes it to be Prancer of Santa Claus fame. Warm tale of faith, magic affords composer to display his melodic gifts with gently lyrical theme for deer, haunting line for bond between girl and animal. Solo colors from ewi (electronic wind instrument) plus celtic harp play amidst piano, synthesizer, strings. Ideas meld outdoor, farm locale with magical, mysterious elements of tale. Major keys get spotlight. Absolutely gorgeous music with hints of mystery, drama. Entire CD presented in stereo from digital scoring session elements courtesy MGM. Maurice Jarre conducts. Intrada Special Collection release available while quantities and interest remain!
  • Play all clips

    01. Silent Night & Main Title Music (5:56)
    02. Moonshot (2:32)
    03. Limpy Reindeer (1:35)
    04. Reindeer Cookies (7:25)
    05. No Circus Deer (3:46)
    06. Christmas Star (5:00)

    07. Theme From Nabucco (2:15)
    08. Prancer Picnic (2:32)
    09. Leaving Home (7:00)
    10. Mysteries Of Love (3:19)
    11. Prancer Is Free & End Credits (7:39)

  • Tech Talk From The Producer…

    Maurice Jarre scored Prancer for an intimate ensemble of strings, solo piano, Celtic harp, synthesizers and choir. Almost the entire score plays in major keys and reflects the beauty and warmth of this seasonal family favorite.

    To present this world premiere CD release, Intrada was fortunate to locate the original stereo session mixes made onto DAT and retained by orchestrator Patrick Russ. Included along with the original score on this CD are Jarre’s arrangement of “Silent Night” that opens the film’s main credits, a theme from Giuseppe Verdi’s Nabucco (also arranged by Jarre and prominently featured twice in the middle of the film), and a new Jarre arrangement of “Mysteries Of Love” (from Blue Velvet, written by Angelo Badalamenti and David Lynch), that plays near the end of the picture.

    In his later years, Jarre often preferred to produce his albums with musically satisfying programs that combined numerous cues into longer listening experiences, with a minimum number of individual tracks. In fact, he frequently composed sequential cues with lengthier ideas in mind, creating cohesiveness not just with related keys but also through complementary harmonic and motivic material. Sometimes, when distinct changes were appropriate for the picture, he would still find a common tone that could actually sustain one disparate cue into the next. While we have retained the picture’s narrative structure and sequence, we hopefully have honored the composer’s memory by creating longer sequences from the numerous smaller pieces where musically possible. The aforementioned cues arranged by Jarre are included in their proper sequence as they are not heard as source music but participate in both the dramatic narrative and the musical flow.

    Enjoy now one of Maurice Jarre’s loveliest scores, for the first time playing apart from this sentimental and beautiful motion picture.

    —Douglass Fake