48 HRS.

Label: Intrada Special Collection Volume ISC 155
Date: 1982
Time: 0:46:00
Tracks: 13
At last! Mega-hit action film gets soundtrack featuring James Horner, The BusBoys! Limited to 5000 copies!

Price: $19.99

  • More Info
  • Track List
  • Doug's Tech Talk
  • Musicians List
  • At last! World premiere release of early James Horner score for hit action movie directed by Walter Hill, starring Nick Nolte, Eddie Murphy. Long-awaited album features James Horner score (licensed through Paramount Pictures) mastered in dynamic sound from original 1/2" three-track stereo session masters plus all-important songs created for the film by The BusBoys (courtesy of Arista Records, licensed through Sony Music Entertainment) including signature "The Boys Are Back In Town", presented from original 1/4" two-track stereo master elements. In addition, Intrada CD also presents Ira Newborn instrumental ("Torchy's Boogie") heard during famous redneck bar sequence with Murphy posing as the "new sheriff in town". Horner scores for orchestra of strings, harp, keyboards, guitars, harmonica, solo woodwinds, large percussion section including steel drums plus sizeable ensemble of low brass... but tacets trumpets, French horns. Results are aggressive, rhythmic action music with degree of grit, edge. Dan Wallin recording captures every detail with crisp, punchy sound. Twin tubas and quartet of trombones in low register are especially solid! Interestingly, composer keeps them playing in unison & octaves at fortissimo volume throughout, creating thick wall of sound that gives score (along with steel percussion) a unique timbre. James Horner & The BusBoys together earned "Best Music/Score" award from Los Angeles Film Critics Association. Intrada is proud to present this important contribution to cinema music on album at last! Informative notes by John Takis complete exciting package. The BusBoys perform their vocals, Ira Newborn supervises, James Horner conducts his score.
  •  Play all clips

    01. Main Title (5:09)
    02. Jack Leaves Elaine's Apartment (1:06)
    03. The Walden Hotel (4:10)
    04. Aerobics (4:08)
    05. Subway Station (5:38)
    06. Subway Chase (1:50)
    07. Luther's Bus (1:57)
    08. The Alley (5:20)
    09. The Boys Are Back In Town (2:35) (The BusBoys)

    The Extras
    10. 48 Hrs. (3:13) (The BusBoys)
    11. Love Songs Are For Crazies (3:44) (The BusBoys)
    12. New Shoes (3:32) (The BusBoys)
    13. Torchy's Boogie (2:55) (Ira Newborn)

  • Tech Talk From The CD Producer-

    James Horner was already on the road to film music fame when 48 HRS. was released in 1982. The mega-success of Walter Hill's action picture, an early project for Horner, solidified the composer as the most exciting new voice in orchestral movie music. Yet even with the extraordinary success of the movie and the attention Horner's music received, no soundtrack album was ever released...until now.

    To bring this exciting score to CD for the very first time, Intrada was given access to the original 15 ips three-channel scoring session masters, recorded and mixed by Dan Wallin and vaulted in mint condition by Paramount Pictures. The dynamic range of the score, including its vast array of percussion, keyboards and orchestra, is crisp and vibrant, helping give the profuse action a nerve-wracking pulse.

    It's interesting to note the unique orchestral color that Horner created: While he uses a large orchestra, complimented by extra percussion and keyboards, Horner tacets all trumpets and French horns, leaving only trombones and tuba to carry the weight of the brass. In addition, he keeps them in their lower registers and has them almost exclusively playing in unison or octaves. The resulting low brass timbre is thick, dark-edged and punchy throughout.

    Horner contributed just under a half hour of orchestral scoring. The other primary musical ingredient in the picture was a quartet of original songs, supervised by Ira Newborn. Three of these were written by Brian O'Neal, one was written by Kevin O'Neal and all four were performed by The BusBoys. The most visible of these ('The Boys Are Back In Town') was used for the end credits. Ira Newborn also wrote the rowdy, country-inspired instrumental cue ('Torchy's Boogie') that played under the iconic scene of Eddie Murphy turning a redneck San Francisco bar upside down. All five of these original numbers are also included on our CD, mastered from the original 15 ips two-track stereo master tapes courtesy of Paramount Pictures as well.

    So drop the CD in your player, crank up the juice and fasten your seat belts.
    This one roars!

    , Douglass Fake

  • Composed and Conducted by James Horner.

    Recorded on october 6 and 7, 1982, at Paramount Pictures.

    This soundtrack was produced in cooperation with the
    American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada.

    Carl Fortina

    Stuart Canin
    Arnold Belnick
    Dixie Blackstone
    David Frisina
    Harris Goldman
    Clayton Haslop
    Gwen Heller
    William Hybel
    Nathan Kaproff
    Mary Lundquist
    Joy Lyle
    Constance Meyers
    Claudia Parducci
    Stanley Plummer
    Nathan Ross
    Sidney Sharp
    Jennifer Small
    David Turner
    Dorothy Wade
    Arthur Zadinsky
    Shari Zippert

    Pamela Goldsmith
    Holly Barnes
    Alan DeVeritch
    Roland Kato
    Myra Kestenbaum
    Janet Lakatos
    Carol Mukogawa
    Ray Tischer

    Douglas Davis
    Robert Adcock
    Marie Fera
    Paula Hochhalter
    David Speltz
    Nancy Stein

    Buell Neidlinger
    Tim Barr
    Arni Egilsson
    Bruce Morgenthaler

    Richard Nash
    Lloyd Ulyate
    George Roberts
    Robert Sanders

    John T. Johnson
    James Self

    Ernest Watts

    Larry Bunker
    Emil Radocchia
    Joe Porcaro
    Steven Schaeffer

    Andy Narrel
    Jeff Narrel

    Tommy Morgan

    Dorothy Remsen

    Wallace N. Craig, Jr.

    Abe Laboriel

    Ralph Grierson
    Michael Lang
    Ian Underwood

    Greg McRitchie