Label: Intrada Special Collection Volume ISC 125
Date: 1965/1969
Time: 1:03:02
Tracks: 24
Two original Dominic Frontiere albums on one CD!

Price: - (Sold Out)

  • More Info
  • Track List
  • Doug's Tech Talk
  • Musicians List
  • World CD premiere of two Dominic Frontiere scores originally released as LPs on United Artists label in 1960's. BILLIE is Don Weis athletic tomboy pic with Patty Duke, Jim Backus, Jane Greer. Frontiere creates school girl musical romp with bounce tunes, dance tunes, numbers for Patty to sing. POPI is heartwarming Arthur Hiller drama with Alan Arkin, Rita Moreno. On this one, Frontiere brings degree of dramatic flavor to score. "Set Sail" sequence is colorful highlight with striking meld of classical form, contemporary harmony. Beautiful Spanish-flavor cues are further highlights. Both titles presented complete as originally issued by United Artists from pristine condition stereo album masters vaulted by MGM. Informative notes by Julie Kirgo round out tuneful package. Dominic Frontiere conducts.
  • Play all clips


    01. Main Title - Billie (2:20)
    02. Alma Mater/I Love You, I Love You/Welcome Home [Medley] (2:53)
    03. The Beat (2:25)
    04. Lonely Little In Between (2:12)
    05. The Girl Is A Girl Is A Girl (2:30)
    06. Funny Little Butterflies (3:28)
    07. Funny Little Butterflies (2:20)
    08. Hold It (2:19)
    09. Billie (3:03)
    10. The Girl Is A Girl Is A Girl (2:15)
    11. Victory Dance (2:44)
    12. Discoteque (3:21)

    Total Score Time: 32:26


    13. Popi [Instrumental] (2:37)
    14. Rita's Theme (3:04)
    15. Two Boys On A Beach (2:15)
    16. The Flood (1:41)
    17. Set Sail (2:04)
    18. Chico's Place (2:10)
    19. Popi [Children's Chorus] (2:40)
    20. They Ran Away (2:32)
    21. On To Miami (2:47)
    22. Where's My Kids (2:43)
    23. Geneviva Take Care (3:22)
    24. You Want These Kids (2:00)

    Total Score Time: 30:26

  • Tech Talk From The Producer…

    Billie and Popi are two flavorful, enthusiastic film scores from the sixties by then-prolific composer Dominic Frontiere. For this world CD premiere, Intrada located the original ¼” 15 ips twotrack stereo album masters recorded for the United Artists Records label releases of each album, respectively in 1965 and 1969. The master elements were preserved by MGM in perfect condition and required no noise reduction or other signal processing. Both albums had vibrant, crisp stereo sonics and are preserved on CD as such.

    Customary for the day, each original album was relatively brief. Therefore, we have paired the two albums together on a single CD. The original contents and program order for both albums has been preserved as well.

    The musical content of Billie is hip, spunky and tuned to the sixties teenage beat. The music for Popi includes more dramatic content, including some beautiful Latin-flavored melodies and a wonderfully symmetrical, nautically-buoyant sailing sequence. Now sit back and spend an hour with Mr. Frontiere as he helps you relive (or experience for the first time) those wild and wonderful sixties!

    —Douglass Fake