Label: Intrada Special Collection Volume ISC 110
Date: 1979
Time: 0:37:33
Tracks: 10
World premiere of Michael Small's tense, exciting (and never used) score for famous thriller! Limited to 1000 copies!

Price: - (Sold Out)

  • More Info
  • Track List
  • Doug's Tech Talk
  • Musicians List
  • One of the best kept secrets in film music is out! World premiere release of never-used Michael Small score for highly-praised, then-timely thriller directed by James Bridges, starring Jane Fonda, Michael Douglas, Jack Lemmon. Tense tale of nuclear plant disaster played incredibly well without any dramatic scoring, but original intent was to have Small add suspense, excitement to grim & eerie proceedings. Small offers terse ideas, keeps pace with pending disaster, then unleashes sensational action cue with "Meltdown!" sequence. While multi-track elements have vanished, Sony fortunately vaulted mono safety copies of entire sessions. Engineering slates and paperwork allowed us to recreate Small's original picture intent as well. Also included is "bonus" section of Small's original source music, used for various TV bumpers (Fonda & Douglas are TV reporters). Michael Small conducts. Intrada Special Collection release limited to 1000 copies!
  • Play all clips

    01. The Plant (2:21)
    02. News At 6:00 (1:41)
    03. Ticking Time Bomb (7:48)
    04. Hot Rods (3:08)
    05. News At 11:00 (1:50)
    06. Meltdown! (3:31)

    07. The China Syndrome (4:18)
    08. The Truth and Finale (5:28)

    Bonus Tracks - Michael Small Source Music
    09. Source Suite #1 (1:32)
    10. Source Suite #2 (5:20)

  • Tech Talk From The CD Producer…

    One of the best kept secrets in film music would have remained a secret if it weren’t for the personnel at Sony Pictures having discovered two rolls of ¼" scoring session masters for The China Syndrome nestled amongst various other sound elements for this most-famous of all nuclear nightmare movies.

    While only mono mixdowns of the ultimately-unused Michael Small score were all that survived, they were complete and in very good condition, offering clean and crisp audio. No paperwork on the scoring sessions has survived but engineering slates on the session masters allowed us to accurately recreate the intentions of Small. Some additional "source" music, composed and conducted by Small appears at the end of the main program. These tracks appear to have been recorded as "utility" cues, designed for any number of scenes involving the TV news station during bulletins, station breaks and other possible broadcasting moments. As they are scored in styles that don’t compliment the suspense-filled background score itself, we felt they would be better suited to play out as final bonuses.

    Now one of the best kept secrets in film music is out. Michael Small wrote a terrific score for a terrific film that ultimately proved quite exciting without any original scoring at all. Fortunately, for fans of this great composer, an ultra-rare opportunity to hear what might have been now becomes a reality.

    —Douglass Fake

  • Composed and Conducted by Michael Small.

    Recorded on October 16 and 17, 1978, at The Burbank Studio, Burbank, California.

    This soundtrack was produced in cooperation with the
    American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada.

    Joseph Soldo

    Israel Baker
    Harry Bluestone
    Hermann Clebanoff
    Glenn Dicterow
    Assa Drori
    Henry Ferber
    Ronald Folsom
    David Frisina
    Irving Geller
    Clayton Haslop
    Anatol Kaminsky
    Bernard Kundell
    Betty LaMagna
    Carl LaMagna
    Marvin Limonick
    Yoko Matsuda
    Stanley Plummer
    Linda N. Rose
    Nathan Ross
    Seymour Rubinstein
    Sheldon Sanov
    Joseph Stepansky
    Robert Sushel

    Myer Bello
    Richard Dickler
    Virginia Majewski
    David Schwartz

    Ray Kramer
    Robert L. Martin
    Daniel Rothmuller
    Eleanor Slatkin
    David Speltz

    Robert W. Daugherty
    Arni Egilsson
    Robert Freedman
    James Hughart
    Buell Neidlinger

    Louise DiTullio (Dissman)
    David Shostac
    Sheridon Stokes
    Jim Walker

    Donald Ashworth
    Dominick Fera
    Ralph Garofalo
    James M. Kanter
    Robert Tricarico

    Earle Dumler
    J ohn F. Ellis

    Alan Goodman
    Jack Marsh

    Vincent DeRosa
    Art Maebe
    Richard E. Perissi
    Robert Tricarico

    Malcolm McNab
    Uan Rasey
    Thomas M. Stevens
    Graham Young

    George Roberts
    Lloyd E. Ulyate

    Joe Farrell
    Tim May
    Thomas Tedesco

    John D. Berkman
    Michael Boddicker
    John Markman
    Ian Underwood

    Catherine Gotthoffer

    Dale Anderson
    John P. Guerin
    Jack Jennings
    Joe Porcaro
    Kenneth Watson

    Robert Freedman

    Harry Baker
    Nancy Beach
    Gene Bren
    Barbara Caton
    Harriet Crawford
    B arrett O’Hara
    Daniel Perito
    David Rhodes
    Wayne Robinson
    Michael Rogers
    Leonard Wolstein